Our mission is to empower women, shine a spotlight on what they are doing for the UK food industry and build a community of women who give each other support, confidence and strength.

Sign up now

About

We believe you can’t be what you can’t see. Championing and celebrating women in the UK food industry is at the heart of what we do. This is THE place for conversation, insight, news, events, podcasts, stories, networking and community support across all sectors of the food industry.

Subscribe to our newsletter and watch this space for a BRAND NEW way to take part in our community.

With your help we aim to:
• Increase the awareness of all the roles women play in the industry
• Show the wide range of roles and opportunities for women
• Connect women across all sectors for conversation and support
• Be a resource and a place where women can get the help they need

We want to see a world in which the food industry treats women as equal, champions inclusion and diversity and actively helps women of all ages and backgrounds fulfil their dreams and ambitions to work in food.  We also want to help move women up the ranks and become strong leaders and role models in the industry.

Led by co-founder, Mex Ibrahim with the valuable help of Ambassadors: Irini Tzortzoglou, Antonia Lloyd, Shelley Sofier and Emma White, we all share the heart-felt belief that collaboration is better than competition and we welcome the support of both men and women to help our aims.

Women in the Food Industry became a Community Interest Company (CIC) on 18th July 2023 and doesn’t exist to make a profit – we work towards a purpose, reinvesting any surplus money into achieving our goal.

Sign up now

The Conduit Food Industry Community Drinks – Monday 5th August 2024

Join our supporters The Conduit – a members club for social impact – for Food Industry networking drinks on Monday 5th August! Meet the burgeoning community committed to creating a sustainable, just and prosperous future for food. 

Monday, 5th August 2024

Rooftop Terrace, The Conduit, 6 Langley St, London WC2H 9JA

Celebrating South Asian Heritage Month – Women in the Food Industry Panel – Monday 15th July 2024

Women in the Food Industry brought you an insightful panel event, with a showcase of South Asian snacks, & soft drinks. You will have met an inspirational panel of women who are leveraging their food businesses to promote intercultural dialogue & also discovered the challenges they faced as South Asian women in the food industry and how they overcame them.

Monday, 15th July 2024

Halifax HQ
First Floor
118-132 New Oxford Street
London, WC1A 1HL

Women Chefs and Cooks on TV : The Realities of Reality TV – Wednesday 3rd July 2024

Women in the Food Industry are bringing you a fascinating panel event, along with snacks, & award-winning drinks looking at the realities of reality TV and how women are portrayed on competitive cooking shows. Being on national TV is the dream of many in the hospitality world. It can boost your career and change your life overnight. We speak to leading cooks, chefs, restaurateurs and an award winning food TV producer to discuss how you can get on TV, what to consider before applying, how to deal with the cameras, how to deal with social media, what success is like and how to make the most of your time in the public eye.

Wednesday, 3rd July 2024

Divertimenti Cookery School
227-229 Brompton Road, London, SW3 2EP

The Conduit Food Industry Community Drinks – Monday 1st July 2024

Join our supporters The Conduit – a members club for social impact – for Food Industry networking drinks on Monday 1st July 2024! Meet the burgeoning community committed to creating a sustainable, just and prosperous future for food.

Monday, 1st July 2024

2nd Floor, Reading Room, The Conduit, 6 Langley St, London WC2H 9JA

A Woman’s Place is in the Kitchen : Panel Event & Book Signing – Tuesday 11th June 2024

Women in the Food Industry hosted an event centred around the launch of Sally Abé’s debut memoir – A Woman’s Place is in the Kitchen – a chef’s dispactches from behind the pass. Sally’s book is about her journey of becoming an award-winning chef in the brutal world of restaurant kitchens. It is also a stirring manifesto which shows how we can change them for the better. On 11th June we met an inspiring panel of women working to bring hope for the culinary landscape’s future.

Tuesday, 11th June 2024

Halifax HQ
First Floor
118-132 New Oxford Street
London, WC1A 1HL

Aussie Beef Mates : Women In The Food Industry Bristol Lunch – Monday 10th June 2024

Women in the Food Industry & The Chefs Forum are hosting a lunch at City Restaurant, City of Bristol College prepared by leading local chefs and students. Showcasing the finest Aussie beef, thanks to Aussie Beef Mates you can enjoy a menu prepared by: Kasae Fraser (MasterChef The Professionals 2024 Finalist, Charlotte Vincent (National Chef of the Year Finalist 2024 and Great British Menu contestant) Caley Briddick (Freelance Chef) Brinda Bungaroo (Brinda’s Mauritius Delights) and  Lucy Bowden (Freelance Chef).

Monday, 10th June 2024

City Restaurant, City of Bristol College,
St George's Road,
Bristol,
BS1 5UA

Healthy Eating & Nutrition for the Summer – Monday 3rd June 2024

Women in the Food Industry are hosting an event that’s all about healthy eating in preparation for the summer! This isn’t about getting “beach body ready” but how to maintain a healthy approach to our diets and eat well throughout the year. The discussion will feature esteemed nutritionists, chefs, and cookbook authors who bring a wealth of expertise from diverse culinary backgrounds, dietary philosophies, and cultural perspectives.

Monday, 3rd June 2024

Halifax HQ
First Floor
118-132 New Oxford Street
London, WC1A 1HL

The Conduit Food Industry Community Drinks – Thursday 30th May 2024

Join our supporters The Conduit – a members club for social impact – for Food Industry community drinks on Thursday 30th May! Meet the burgeoning community committed to creating a sustainable, just and prosperous future for food. 

Thursday, 30th May 2024

2nd Floor, Reading Room, The Conduit, 6 Langley St, London WC2H 9JA

News

15/07/2024

Elizabeth David – A Book of Mediterranean Food – Reviewed by Antonia Lloyd

Elizabeth David’s first cookery book, A Book of Mediterranean Food, was published almost 75 years ago in 1950 and it changed British eating habits forever. Our Ambassador of Women In the Food Industry and Writer, Antonia Lloyd, reviews the 2024 hardback reissue.

Read more

12/07/2024

Empowering Women in the Food Industry through the Global London Programme

In today’s dynamic global market, the food industry emerges as a sector ripe with opportunities but also fraught with challenges, especially for women entrepreneurs aiming to specialise in their niche. To help address this, the Global London programme is designed specifically to support and bolster women’s ambitions in the food industry.

Read more

27/06/2024

Dominique Woolf’s ‘The Asian Pantry’ – Reviewed by Mex Ibrahim

The Asian Pantry – is the much anticipated second cookbook by Dominique Woolf. Dominique is the winner of Channel 4’s The Great Cookbook Challenge by Jamie Oliver and also creator of the award-winning The Woolf’s Kitchen chilli oils, sauces and pastes.  She was one of the panellists at our Summer Healthy Eating event, where we were lucky enough to be some of the first people to see her book before its publication. Our co-founder Mex Ibrahim, reviews The Asian Pantry after Dominque’s wonderful launch party. 

Read more

13/06/2024

The Guild of Food Writers Awards 2024 Winners Announced : A look at the women who won

The Guild of Food Writers announced the winners for its annual Awards on 12th June 2024 at a glittering ceremony. One of the longest running awards in food writing and broadcasting the winners featured emerging talents such as Felicity Souter and Molly Codyre. Also some of the industry’s best-known female food writers and broadcasters, including Bee Wilson and Prue Leith gained great recognition for their achievements. Our co-founder Mecca Ibrahim is a member of The Guild of Food Writers and attended the ceremony at the Royal Institution in Mayfair. She highlights the women who took home awards  for 2024.

Read more

05/06/2024

Sally Abé’s ‘A Woman’s Place is in the Kitchen’ – Reviewed by Antonia Lloyd

A Woman’s Place Is In The Kitchen – the long-awaited memoir of British culinary star Sally Abé is out this June and it’s a searingly honest account of a young cook’s ascent to the top of the restaurant industry. Following in the vein of Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential, Sally’s grit and determination to succeed shines through every sentence, intensifying as she faces hostile situations and a brutal working environment.  Our Ambassador of Women In the Food Industry and Writer, Antonia Lloyd, reviews Sally’s debut book.

Read more

03/06/2024

Latest Newsletter from Women in The Food Industry – June 2024

The latest newsletter from Women in The Food Industry includes discounted Early Bird offers for our June events, exciting new events for July, free tickets for the Between The Covers LIVE tour, a free breakfast event on sustainability and hospitality AND a free lunch in Bristol on 10th June. Plus our latest cookbook reviews and more!

Read more

01/06/2024

The Taste of Belgium by Ruth Van Waerebeek – Cookbook Reviewed by Antonia Lloyd

What is Belgian food you might ask? Is it French, German, or perhaps Dutch? Beyond the popular national dishes of moules frites and sugar waffles, is there much to it?   Our Ambassador of Women In the Food Industry and Writer, Antonia Lloyd, reviews Ruth Van Waerebeek’s The Taste of Belgium which opens our eyes to the possibilities of this less familiar cuisine of ‘elegant comfort food’. 

Read more

28/05/2024

Elly Wentworth at The Angel of Dartmouth : Cookbook Reviewed by Antonia Lloyd

Elly Wentworth is one of the country’s finest young chefs and her debut cookbook is a beautiful, impeccably presented collection of fine dining recipes demonstrating her immense skill, flair, and passion for the finest Devonian ingredients served up at The Angel of Dartmouth. Our Ambassador of Women In the Food Industry and Writer, Antonia Lloyd, reviews Elly Wentworth at The Angel of Dartmouth which launches on 30th May 2024 .

Read more

View all news

Enquiries

Mex Ibrahim

E: mex@womeninthefoodindustry.com
M: 07766083132


Subscribe to our newsletter

Privacy & Cookies

Some of our supporters

Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up today to be first to find out all the latest news and offers from WIFI